Jane and the 12 days of Christmas

Author: Stephanie Barron

Published: 2014

I started this book hoping to it to get me more in the Christmas spirit. I had a selection to choose from mainly romances and pets themed books but this one was the only bookthat I though might challenge my mind and possibly learn something from seeing that’s it is historical and about Jane Austen.

The book is a murder mystery and it takes place over the 12 days of Christmas. There is much history and detail that went into the history at the time and this also Applies to the mystery. There are a great deal of characters each with distinct backgrounds and personalities which makes it easy to identify with and see through the lenses of each character. The setting was set in the 1820s in Britain and most of the story was captured within a mansion with gave an exiting and thrilling place for a group of guests to spend there Christmas. The traditions, ways of living, what they did for entertainment, and customs for that time and culture were very interesting and fun and which gave the story some extra spice and flavor. The mystery itself was very good and hard to figure out. I especially liked the detective work and the putting together of the pieces to solve the case.

On the other hand what I didn’t like was the conclusion of the murder mystery and who the why they did the crime. Also I had a difficult time following most of the conclusions drawn in finding the murderer when they had to do with the current events at the time. Not just this but the language was neat but I also had a harder time following it and had to read more slowly because of the old style.

After finishing it I wasn’t unhappy but I think I could have picked a better movie for Christmas, I should have went with one of the ones about a pet dog. Can’t go wrong with that.

6/10

Author: Parker

I'm a biblical counselor writing on relevant counseling topics from a biblical perspective. I write reviews on movies, shows, and books.

Leave a comment