Moana

Moana

I do not usually watch kid movies unless I really find them to look appealing. Its not that there is anything wrong with kids movies. In fact for a while I was on a kids movie kick and would watch them all, since they are usually pretty good in the right context. But I got caught up watching this one at one of those outside movie showing that the city was putting on, so that why this is sort of out of the ordinary from my usual movie reviews.

Previously I had never heard of this movie up until the day I watched it. But its about some native islanders who’s island is becoming unlivable because of all their resources are strangely dying or vanishing. Moana is the chiefs daughter and has a calling to venture out to sea to save her people.

Really this is just another typical kids film as it shares allot of similarities according to how other kids movies go. Same ole prideful and courageous princes. Same ole outcast self centered partner. Same ole mission, save the day.

The songs the characters sing like most kids movies where pretty catchy and fun. Even after the movies is over you will be singing these songs in your head. There are cute little funny animal pet/sidekicks that really steal the show away if you asked me. Most of what I was laughing at was the stupid chicken. Then there is the great building of a relationship and team work between the two hero’s of this film Moana and Maui. I was really thinking they where going to fall in love with each other but that didn’t happen.

The two heroes’ face a couple of villains together and contribute equally. Some of the beasts they face are not really that scary and are actually quite goofy which I liked. Moana and Maui really have a pretty good thing going as they have to help one another to reach their own individual goals.

The best way I can explain this movie is a mixture between Pocahontas and Lilo and Stitch. So if you have a thing for Hawaii or being out on the open sea then this might be the movie for you.

Comparing this with other kids movies, I am giving this one a Five out of Ten.

Rating: 5/10

Author: Parker The Critic

I like watching movies. But more importantly I like reviewing them.

Leave a Reply

