In the Heart of the Sea

heart of the sea

This is another one of those Movies that I wanted to see in theaters buy I didn’t.. lets just say Im not to upset in my misfortune. The movie begins with a young writer trying to find his story to make it big. Well he hears of this amazing ship that went down by rumor of a giant whale. He finds one of the survivors of the ship and persuades him to tell his story, which the old sailor tries to refrain from, having had a belief that people would be ashamed of him.

Good actors such as Chris Hemsworth and Cillian Murphy star in this film and play the parts fairly well. Chris Hemsworth is always a good pick for a film played in an earlier time because of his history doing many movies in past time settings as well as his rugged look of a man.

Most of the exciting parts of this movie had to do with the sailors and seeing them do this dangerous job of working a sailing ship. It looked quite difficult and rough to say the least. Then there were the scenes with them hunting the whales. This too looked liked a brave task as they would throw the harpoon in the whale by hand and have to avoid being drug down to the depths of the waters by these mighty creators. The collecting of the blubber and what that all in tailed was also educational as well as discusting.

The movie sure did take a turn from where I was expecting it to go. I thought they where just going to be hunting the big ole whale. Of course I never read Moby Dick, So I didn’t really know what to expect. So half the movie is about them on the ship and then the other half is about them trying to survive the boat crash. This is where the movie started to get a little boring to me. Just watching them wither a way one by one out at sea. Though I still think they did a good job in featuring what survival out on the ocean might actually be like. They just made it go on for too long thats all.

Have you ever noticed how ridiculously big they have to make things now when they are doing a movie about a big animal or monster or whatever. Its like as long as the days keep going on the monsters in the movies will just keep on getting bigger to where its just ridicules. Just look at the trends in King Kong, or Godzilla, or even Jurassic Park. Well I am pleased to say they got this beast at least in the spectrum of reality. Quite a smart whale I would add, Moby Dick if that is his name. One thing that did not make since in this movie was why Chriss Hemsworth was trying to hunt down this giant whale in this tiny boat when he should have been focusing on surviving. Its not like your going to kill it anyways dude.

I though of two movies while I watched this, Master and Commander, and Cast Away. Really and easy way to sum this one up is that its a little of both. Its real similar to Master and Commander in the first half and kinda of like Cast away in the last half. There you go,so if you you seen both of those two movies there is really no need to watch this one.. HAHA!. I guess I just need to read Moby Dick now to see how close this movie lined up with the book the guy wrote about this story. This movie gets a Seven out of Ten.

Rating: 7/10

Author: Parker

I'm a biblical counselor writing on relevant counseling topics from a biblical perspective. I write reviews on movies, shows, and books.

Leave a comment