Mamma Mia! (2008)

Mamma-Mia-690x388

This is a fun go happy movie, family friendly, and just whole hearted good fun. I chose to watch this movie because one, I needed a good pick me upper to raise my spirits. Two, what better than a fun happy musical with great 70s music set on an old villa beside the sea in Italy.

The movie starts out with Sophie played by Amanda Seyfried, who I truly think is a beautiful women and an amazing actor, finding her mothers journal. After reading this Journal she discovers her possible fathers and invites these three men to her wedding hoping to find out who her true father is. Sophie’s mother, Donna who is played by Meryl Streep, tries to wrestle with past emotions and feelings as she has to deal with her past lovers showing up at her door step all wanting to win back her heart.

The movie focuses both on the daughter and her struggle to find who her true father is and her mothers drama with these three men. Though I would have to say Meryl Streep really gets most of the attention here as most of the musical breaks in song are focused on her as well as most of the screen time. Even in the end of the film it goes back to the focus on what happens with Sophie’s mom and her potential fathers. The end of the movie sort of threw me off as I didn’t think it would end the way it did. which I appreciate who wants to predict the end of a movie, that takes the fun out of watching, doesn’t it.

The movie did a good job on balancing the amount of singing scenes with the amount of regular acting scenes. If there is to much singing and not enough dialogue then I can sure get annoyed with a musical, glad this was not so. another positive about this film is the old italian home setting, seeing the villa and the culture and the beauty of where they lived. One thing that didn’t make this movie amazing was the whole story and what that was about. It just wasn’t for me, I definitely think that many people would enjoy it though. Especially a bunch of teenage girls at a sleep over, dreaming about getting married and love and stuff.

I haven’t really rated to many musicals but since it was a musical I am going to compare it only to musicals. This film gets a Six out of Ten.

Rating: 6/10

Author: Parker The Critic

I like watching movies. But more importantly I like reviewing them.

Leave a Reply

